Introduce yourself

Welcome to the Dato forum! We’re curious as to who you are and what drives you. Tell us about yourself in this topic.

I’ll start by introducing myself: I’m David, one half of Dato. I’m a designer by trade and inventor at heart. I love applying technology to make complex things simple. I’ve been into electronic music making gear since I was about 12 years old but only got my first synthesizer 10 years later.

After having received my Master’s degree in Industrial Design at the Technical University of Eindhoven I started my own consultancy bureau for interactive product design, Nut & Bolt. I did a lot of industrial design and electronics design work for a variety of clients before joining Toon in pursuing my dream of designing musical instruments, which is what I do now.

My name is Toon, the other half of Dato. Ever since I graduated with honors from the HKU University of the Arts Utrecht, I kept on developing unique and unusual designs for my clients at Studio Toon Welling. This search never stops and the out of the ordinary shape of the Dato DUO is a direct result of this.

Before I met David a while back I was already fascinated by electronic music but never thought I could be making it myself. Playing around with his synths, I soon discovered that my musical inability wasn’t keeping me from having fun with these instruments. Before I knew it this developed in a small but fun collection of Synths and a desire for making our own. The DUO is our first instrument and we have plans for many more….

I’m David, neither half of Dato. I started making music seriously about 20 years ago, and soon after I started I began building a modular synthesizer from kits–the Synthesis Technology MOTM system. I took a few years off in the middle, but I’m now working in my studio again, surrounded by various vintage classics as well as new synthesizers.